5 STAR · BOOK REVIEWS: · NOCTURNAL BOOK CLUB

A COURT OF MIST AND FURY REVIEW | GUEST BLOG POST @BOOKLATTES

“I will say this once– and a only once. You can be a pawn, be someone’s reward, and spend the rest of your immortal life bowing and scraping and pretending you’re less than him, than Ianthe, than any of us… Or, you’ve got another choice. You can master whatever powers we gave to you, and make it count. You can play a role in this war. Because war is coming one way or another, and do not try to delude yourself that any of the Fae will give a shit about your family across the wall when our whole territory is likely to be come a charnel house.”

Synopsis: A Court of Mist and Fury takes place a few months after the events of A Court of Thorns and Roses. Tamlin, Feyre, Lucien and the rest of the Spring Court are trying to recover from the traumas under the mountain. Feyre is struggling in her new fey body, and feels like she completely destroyed herself under the mountain by killing the innocent fey. Feyre and Tamlin have PTSD, and don’t really know how to help each other. Tamlin doesn’t want to talk about anything, and Feyre relents and never pushes him.

Anyway, moving on. So Tamlin and Feyre are engaged, and are about to have a very symbolic wedding to prove the world is peaceful and everyone in the court is safe. Feyre is really struggling though, both from nightmares and just lack of communication between her and Tamlin. And obviously Lucien is no help.

But on their wedding day, things go poorly, Feyre basically has a panic attack and BAM Rhysand comes and crashes the party (smh that he wasn’t invited to the big day right). Rhys decides that today is the day that he’s going to cash in the little deal they had and he whisks Feyre away to the night court.

Rhysand tries to help Feyre as best he can, and teaches her to read. He also tells her of his suspicions that she has powers or “gifts” that the other High Lords bestowed upon her when she they saved her life under the mountain. Rhys urges Feyre to master her powers and Feyre wants to learn, but when she returns home, Tamlin forbids her from learning how to fight or learn to use her powers.

Feyre, now a prisoner in her own home, is rescued by a member of Rhy’s Court and is taken back to Rhy’s home. There, Feyre agrees to work for him, and his Inner Circle, in order to master her powers and learn to fight in an upcoming war against the King of Hybern.

This book means so SO much to me. I loved every bit of A Court of Thorns and Roses, and loved A Court of Mist and Fury just as much, and more. This book is so filled with such raw, unending emotion it just took my breath away. The sadness, the joy, just everything was so perfect and well written and Sarah truly outdid herself.

The first time I read it, I didn’t fully absorb the ending, but my second time reading it, I took my time and went over every single line, including that brutal end scene. I think I loved it even more this time around.

Now for the spoilerly part:

The Plot: The plot of this book was absolutely AMAZING. Sarah is a master plotter and gah just the twists, turns and interwoven relationships are just incredible. And the ending dear lord you will not see it cOMING.

The Characters: You meet so many new characters in ACOMAF, each one more lovable than the last.

Feyre: I loved seeing more of Feyre, who’s one of my favorite female characters of all time. She grew so much in this novel (cHARACTER DEVELOPMENT) and she turns into such a strong, powerful woman. She was so strong in the last book, and she goes through so much trauma, and though she struggles, she comes through it even stronger. She’s a total badass, and she eventually learns to stop apologizing and that moment is just so powerful and I want to be I strive to be her omg. I relate to Feyre so much, both through her love of art, fierce love of her family and her struggles with depression. She can be bitchy at times, and rude, but honestly who isn’t, and I love her so much. Just seeing her grow, learning to love herself and conquering depression is SO inspiring, and her falling in love with Rhys and finally getting treated how she deserves makes my heart so happy.

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal. I was a survivor, and I was strong. I would not be weak, or helpless again I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.”

Rhysand: Obviously we all knew he wasn’t the villain after the end of ACOTAR, but you truly get to see a different side of him in ACOMAF. I adore characters with very emotional, traumatic pasts and Rhysand is definitely one of those characters. He is so broken inside. He loves deeply and is willing to do anything to protect his friends and court. And he learned to love himself too, and be with someone who loves him and GAH Feysand is life.

“There are different kinds of darkness,” Rhys said. I kept my eyes shut. “There is the darkness that frightens, the darkness that soothes, the darkness that is restful.” I pictured each. “There is the darkness of lovers, and the darkness of assassins. It becomes what the bearer wishes it to be, needs it to be. It is not wholly bad or good.”

Morrigan: THE LIGHT OF MY FREAKING LIFE OK. Mor has been through SO much but is such a bright, happy part of everyone’s life and I literally want to cry about her 24/7. She was tortured by her own family, left to die, and almost was kept captive and bred like a broodmare but she is happy. And she makes other’s happy. And I just have so many feels about her.

“There are good days and hard days for me—even now. Don’t let the hard days win.”

Cassian: My heart can’t take all the emotions regarding these characters. Cass is so sassy, and hot, and an amazing friend, yet he had such a hard childhood uGH MY BABY.

“He winked at me. There was something rough-hewn about his features– like he’d been made of wind and earth and flame and all these civilized trappings were little more than an inconvenience.”

Azriel: MY MATE AND THE LOVE OF MY LIFE. Az is so precious and he bottles up his emotions but is so cute around Mor and I could literally just talk about the Inner Circle for 5 billion years can you tell????? Friendly reminder that his hands were burned so badly by his brothers that even his immortal blood couldn’t heal it. Goodbye.

“But the second male, the more classically beautiful of the two… Even the light shied from the elegant planes of his face. With good reason. Beautiful, but near- unreadable. He’d be the one to look out for– the knife in the dark.”

Amren: I haven’t read ACOWAR yet but I can’t wait to find out what Amren is. I really think she’s a witch/valg prince baby??? Or a dragon?? Idk but I love her and she’s a bad bitch.

Elain: Honestly I’ve never been that big of a fan of Elain or Nesta, but honestly Elain grew on me in this book. She isn’t fearless, but she’s brave. She shows weakness, and strength, and is just very real.

“Feyre gave and gave– for years. Let us now help her. Help… others.”

Tamlin:

  • honestly I still don’t hate Tamlin. I have lots of thoughts about him and yes he is a tool, but I don’t hate him.
  • Tamlin wants dominance, control, stability. Rhys said that Tam sat on his ass for 50 years and basically sat it out while Feyre fought for him, but imagine how Tamlin felt. He just had to sit there or his friends and court would be punished. Yes, Rhys had to be Amarantha’s whore for 50 years and that is absolutely unimaginable, but Tamlin was facing an eternity as her whore/plaything. Rhys was basically a plaything that Amarantha messed around with while she waited to get Tamlin.
  • Tamlin’s PTSD took the form of controlling everything and bottling up his emotions. Am I saying that’s right? No. But it is PTSD and he was struggling like Feyre was. And it doesn’t mean he can’t change, and grow, like Feyre did.
  • Do I think Feyre was the right romantic partner for him? Absolutely not. But I don’t think people should just write him off as a bag of dicks.
  • Feyre says it herself: he’s a protector and defender. He does what he thinks is best because he’s used to thinking that way.
  • Sidenote: I don’t think Tamlin doesn’t want Feyre to train because he just wants to keep her to himself because that makes zero sense. I think he doesn’t want her to train because he doesn’t want the word getting out and all the High Lords to come and attack her. He just wants to protect her because it’s the first time he can. It’s the first time he has his powers back and again, HE IS SUFFERING FROM PTSD TOO.
  • Again, not saying that way of thinking is justified, but I think people need to try to understand him more.
  • Feyre and Lucien don’t push him. They just let him win, all the time. I think if they pushed him, really made him listen, Tamlin could change.
  • I hate how they never discuss anything. Feyre just tries to work things out or justify his actions in her head. I’m NOT saying I want Feyre and Tam to end up together. But I don’t hate Tamlin and it makes me mad that he just had a total 180 personality change.

Best scenes:

  • Literally all of Rhys and Feyre’s flirting. I adore them SO much. Especially the scene where they’re talking about licking and Feyre is like “where do you want me to lick” and I was like damn girl get it. p. 290
  • When Feyre and Cassian are sparing and she just loses it and is like “it should have been me” and Rhys wraps her in his wings GAH I JUST LOVE THE GROUP DYNAMIC p.297
  • Rhys and Feyre talking on the roof and Rhys is all pissy and Feyre tries to comfort him or just try to break his shell because he did that so many times for her. p. 365
  • Just the entire scene of Rhys having the nightmare and Feyre comforting him. My heart is literally dead. p. 370
  • The starfall scene. I. Cannot. WHEN SHE SMILES AT HIM GAH DEAD p. 438

PLEASE read this book people. It will change your life.

 

Leave a Reply

